Daft Punk – Something About Us

I posted the original first to give you a taste of how the song works in Daft Punk’s 2001 Discovery which hails back to the hey-day of their musical talents. Having not seen Tron it’s tough for me to comment on the new soundtrack Daft just produced. It sounds really dark and ominous and lacks the synth/electronic element that gave them their fame. I was expecting Daft’s talents in the studio to flourish with the assistance of a classical/electronic blend. Sure, it may have worked for the movie but there’s no way I’ll buy the album and there is NO way it’ll find the success that Discovery found.

In any case the second video is from a band called Balance and the Traveling Sounds. The cover is a cool jazz vibe that plays on the chord progression of the Daft tune and there’s even a spitfire moment of spoken words and the catchy choral refrain. Give it a listen and if you like what you here check out their other stuff here and here.

via Fark

About twogirlsonestone

I'm a graduate of Saint Lawrence University where I got my degree in Global Studies major with a focus on European and Islamic Studies. I'm particularly interested in Muslim immigration in Europe. I use this blog when I'm bored or if I find a lot something interesting. I spend an inordinate amount of time online and thought it's time to post a collection of my favorites for friends to view.
This entry was posted in Links, Music, Talent, Video and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

