Phil Cohen at Pub 56

I don’t know about the rest of you but I sure as hell had an eventful night last night. On the eve of Mardi Gras celebration, and through a myriad of texts from friends celebrating in St. Louis (shout out to Ry guy and Amy Dame), Phil Cohen came to provide campus with a much needed soul session. In typical Phil Cohen fashion, he took to the stage with a set list of crowd favorites and entertained requests from lip syncing friends for a private, pseudo-karaoke performance. What started as the brainchild of a blossoming musician has truly become part of the common masses at Saint Lawrence. I’ve never seen Pub 56 so packed and eager to to jam out, jig and jive and bone down to great music. Just ask Margaret Hargoe, biology professor, who offered up her home to house Phil for his weekend homecoming and was also there until the very end of the show to welcome Phil with a hug. Nights like last night remind you why you came here in the first place – sometimes there is no line between school and home. True enough, the people you find here aren’t far removed from the family and friends you grew up with and they always find a way of coming back. Here’s to you Phil:

About twogirlsonestone

I'm a graduate of Saint Lawrence University where I got my degree in Global Studies major with a focus on European and Islamic Studies. I'm particularly interested in Muslim immigration in Europe. I use this blog when I'm bored or if I find a lot something interesting. I spend an inordinate amount of time online and thought it's time to post a collection of my favorites for friends to view.
This entry was posted in Music, Talent, Video and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

